UGARA

About UGARA

The History of UGARA

Beginning in 1973, the Alumni Society (now the UGA Alumni Association) sponsored an annual dinner for retired faculty/staff. In 1988, then-UGA President Charles Knapp established a seven-member task force to study the feasibility of involvement of and assistance to UGA faculty and staff members after retirement. The committee discovered that our university was one of the first in the country, second only to North Carolina State, in "recognizing retirees as an asset who could continue to serve and should also continue to be served." (And, we believe, one of very few institutions that included both faculty and staff from the start.)

After the President's Office began to host receptions for new retirees, the UGA Alumni Association stayed involved as an active partner. At the annual dinner in 1990, attendees approved the task force recommendation to establish a retirees association. The next year, UGARA and its nine-member governing council was officially established. Council members are elected for staggered three-year terms. Ex officio members of the council represent other university constituencies.

 

UGARA COUNCIL DIRECTORY 2016-2017

 
Elected Members
Listserv: ugara-council@listserv.uga.edu
 
Mark Eason (Chair)
(2015-2018)
1260 Barnett Rdg
Athens, GA 30605-5344
706-549-0221
meason@uga.edu
Tom Landrum (Vice Chair)
(2015-2018)
1270 Palomino Pass
Watkinsville, GA 30677-7534
706-540-4420
tlandrum@uga.edu
 
Freda Scott Giles (Secretary)
(2014-2017)
114 McNutts Creek Dr
Athens, GA 30606
706-613-8699
fsgiles@uga.edu
Tommy Altman (Treasurer & Receptions)
(2014-2017)
124 Spruce Valley Rd
Athens, GA 30605
706-247-3293
taltman@uga.edu
 
Tom Lauth (Immediate Past-President & USG Retiree Council Representative)
(2013-2017)
140 Duncan Springs Rd
Athens, GA 30606-4614
706-353-7538
tplauth@uga.edu
Laura Dowd
(2016-2017)
130 Oakwood Ter
Athens, GA 30607-2021
706-548-5898
dowd@uga.edu
 
Jim Cobb
(2016-2019)
PO Box 48237
Athens, GA 30604-8237
(706) 436-4038
cobby@uga.edu
Nancy McDuff (Benefits)
(2016-2019)
305 Saint George Dr
Athens, GA 30606-3909
706-546-1739
nmcduff@uga.edu
 
Paul Kurtz (Communications)
(2015-2018)
362 W Cloverhurst Ave
Athens, GA 30606-4212
706-543-5016
pmkurtz@uga.edu
Tom Eaton
(2016-2019)
190 Tipperary Rd
Athens, GA 30606-3833
706-548-4061
teaton@uga.edu
 
Ex-Officio Members
 
Simon Aderibigbe (University Council)
African Studies Institute
0020 Peabody Hall
290 S Jackson Street
Athens, Ga 30602
706-542-5314
iaderibi@uga.edu
Sherri Stephens (Staff Council)
Assistant to the Dean of FACS
0205 Dawson Hall
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-4655
sherri@uga.edu
 
Dot Cofer (Extension Retirees)
149 Pinedale Dr.
Thomson, GA 30824
706-595-2501
dcofer@uga.edu
Arthur Tripp (President's Office)
Assistant to the President
227 Administration Building
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-9167
atripp@uga.edu
 
Travis Jackson (Human Resources)
Director of Benefits
111 Human Resources Bldg
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-2222
tpjack@uga.edu
 
 
Administrative Support Representatives
 
Lindsey Copus (Receptions)
Office of Special Events – UGA
240 S. Jackson St.
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-0132
lcopus@uga.edu
Marcus Jennings (Membership)
Wray-Nicholson House
298 S. Hull Street
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-4710
mrj@uga.edu
 
Shea Landers (Budget/Business)
Wray-Nicholson House
298 S. Hull Street
Athens, GA 30602
706-542-2251
slanders@uga.edu
 
 
UGARA BY-LAWS (Revised 2013)
Download PDF