UGARA

About UGARA

The History of UGARA

Beginning in 1973, the Alumni Society (now the UGA Alumni Association) sponsored an annual dinner for retired faculty/staff. In 1988, then-UGA President Charles Knapp established a seven-member task force to study the feasibility of involvement of and assistance to UGA faculty and staff members after retirement. The committee discovered that our university was one of the first in the country, second only to North Carolina State, in "recognizing retirees as an asset who could continue to serve and should also continue to be served." (And, we believe, one of very few institutions that included both faculty and staff from the start.)

After the President's Office began to host receptions for new retirees, the UGA Alumni Association stayed involved as an active partner. At the annual dinner in 1990, attendees approved the task force recommendation to establish a retirees association. The next year, UGARA and its nine-member governing council was officially established. Council members are elected for staggered three-year terms. Ex officio members of the council represent other university constituencies.

UGARA Council 2014-15
 
Elected Members  
 
Tom Lauth (President)
(2013-2016)
tplauth@uga.edu
Marc Eason (Vice President and Benefits)
(2015-2018)
meason@uga.edu
 
Sharron Thompson (Secretary)
(2013-2016)
sharront@uga.edu
Tommy Altman (Treasurer)
(2014-2017)
taltman@uga.edu
 
Brahm Verma (USG Retiree Council Representative)
(2012-2016)
bverma@engr.uga.edu
Ed Kanemasu
(2013-2016)
ekanema@uga.edu
 
Freda Scott Giles
(2014-2017)
fsgiles@uga.edu
Paul Kurtz
(2015-2018)
pmkurtz@uga.edu
 
Sharron Hannon (Communications)
(2013-2016)
Shannon@uga.edu
Tom Landrum
(2015-2018)
tlandrum@uga.edu
 
Ruth Bettandorff
(2014-2017)
bettendr@uga.edu
 
 
Ex-Officio Members  
 
Simon Aderibigbe
University Council
iaderibi@uga.edu
Sherri Stephens
Staff Council
sherri@uga.edu
 
Dot Cofer
Extension Retirees
dcofer@uga.edu
Matt Winston
President's Office
mwinston@uga.edu
 
Travis Jackson
Human Resources
tpjack@uga.edu
 
 
Administrative Support  
 
Lindsey Copas
Special Events
lcopus@uga.edu
Marcus Jennings
Membership
mrj@uga.edu
 
Shea Landers
(Budget/Business)
slanders@uga.edu
 
 
UGARA BY-LAWS (Revised 2013)
Download PDF