About UGARA

The History of UGARA

Beginning in 1973, the Alumni Society (now the UGA Alumni Association) sponsored an annual dinner for retired faculty/staff. In 1988, then-UGA President Charles Knapp established a seven-member task force to study the feasibility of involvement of and assistance to UGA faculty and staff members after retirement. The committee discovered that our university was one of the first in the country, second only to North Carolina State, in “recognizing retirees as an asset who could continue to serve and should also continue to be served.” (And, we believe, one of very few institutions that included both faculty and staff from the start.)

After the President’s Office began to host receptions for new retirees, the UGA Alumni Association stayed involved as an active partner. At the annual dinner in 1990, attendees approved the task force recommendation to establish a retirees association. The next year, UGARA and its nine-member governing council was officially established. Council members are elected for staggered three-year terms. Ex-officio members of the council represent other university constituencies.

UGARA Report on UGA Retiree Experiences with Changes in the Process of Obtaining Health Insurance

During November 2016, UGARA worked with faculty in UGA’s Institute of Gerontology to conduct a survey of UGA retirees regarding their experiences with the change in process of obtaining health insurance. The results of this survey are available at the following link (UGARA Report).

 

UGARA COUNCIL DIRECTORY 2017-2018

 
Elected Members
 
Tom Landrum (President)
(2015-2018)
tlandrum@uga.edu
Nancy McDuff (Vice President)
(2016-2019)
nmcduff@uga.edu
 
Tom Eaton (Secretary)
(2016-2019)
teaton@uga.edu
Paul Kurtz (Treasurer)
(2015-2018)
pmkurtz@uga.edu
 
Mark Eason (Immediate Past-President. USG Retiree Council Representative, and Benefits)
(2015-2018)
meason@uga.edu
Henry Hibbs (Receptions)
(2016-2017)
hhibbs@uga.edu
 
Jim Cobb (Communications)
(2016-2019)
cobby@uga.edu
Marilyn Huff-Waller
(2016-2019)
mhwaller@uga.edu
 
Ruhanna Neal
(2017-2020)
rneal@uga.edu
 
 
Ex-Officio Members
 
Beth Tolley (University Council)
btolley@uga.edu
Stefani Hilley (Staff Council)
shilley@uga.edu
 
Dot Cofer (Extension Retirees)
dcofer@uga.edu
Arthur Tripp (President’s Office)
atripp@uga.edu
 
Travis Jackson (Human Resources)
tpjack@uga.edu
 
 
Administrative Support Representatives
 
Lacy Wilhoit (Receptions)
laceyj@uga.edu
Shea Landers (Budget/Business)
slanders@uga.edu
 
 
UGARA BY-LAWS (Revised 2013)
Download PDF